News Highlights from AMS

Graphical Version

News Highlights from AMS

Academic Year 2016 - 2017

AMS Professor Mahadevan Ganesh has received a $116,807 research award from NREL in support of his project, titled "High Performance Computing and Power-aware Application Performance." Ganesh has also accepted a Visiting Professional Fellow appointment for three years at the University of New South Wales, in Sydney, Australia. In 2016, he has also received visiting appointments at Macquarie University in Sidney, Australia; University of Padova in Padova, Italty; and Pontificia Universidad Catolica, in Santiago, Chile.

Academic Year 2015 2016


AMS Assistant Professor Stephen Pankavich has received a three-year research grant from the National Science Foundation for $233,775 to develop new analytical and computational methods of solving mathematical problems in the kinetic theory of plasma dynamics. Pankavich is the sole Principal Investigator for the project titled “Well-posedness and Behavior of Solutions to Kinetic Equations.” His research will include studying the validation of kinetic plasma models, identification of special solutions, determination of their stability properties, and the computational approximation of their behavior by Particle-in-Cell and Discontinuous Galerkin methods. Full Story>>

The Department of Applied Mathematics and Statistics (AMS) awarded the inaugural AMS Honor Fund for Excellence in Teaching and Learning Awards on May 11, 2016. Clinton Parapat, an undergraduate studying Mechanical Engineering, was presented with the Learning and Perseverance Award, with a prize of $800. Chris Lebaron, a student of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering, received the runner up award of $200.

Recipients of the award are asked to recognize a faculty member who inspired or assisted them in overcoming adversity. Both students chose Megan Harris, who serves as the academic advising coordinator at the Center for Academic Services and Advising(CASA), as the person who had been most influential in helping them succeed academically at Mines. Learn more about the AMS Honor Fund and the two AMS faculty it was created to honor, Carol Job and Sharon McAuliffe, on the AMS Student Awards page. 

The Department of Applied Mathematics and Statistics created a wall tribute to Ryan Sayers, a former math and physics student at Mines who was tragically killed by a lightning strike in 2003. The Sayers family, seen below, continues Ryan's legacy at Mines, via the annual Ryan Sayers Memorial Pi Mile Fun Run, the annual awarding of the Ryan Sayers Memorial Scholarship and Award, and the computer lab named in his honor. The new wall also honors the 18 outstanding Mines graduates who have received the Ryan Sayers Memorial Scholarship or the Ryan Sayers Memorial Award. More can be learned Ryan Sayers and the awards in his honor on the AMS Student Awards page.

AMS Teaching Associate Professor Rebecca Swanson is the recipient of the 2016 Early Career Teaching Award from the Rocky Mountain Section of the Mathematical Association of America (MAA).  The award will be presented to Dr. Swanson at the 2016 Joint Meeting of the Intermountain and Rocky Mountain Sections of the MAA on April 8, in Grand Junction, Colorado. The award recognizes faculty members that are early in their career and excel in teaching at the undergraduate level, as well as have a demonstrated influence outside their own classrooms.

Results are in from the Mathematical Association of America's Putnam Exam. Nine AMS students participated, five of whom were taking it for the first time. Mines team ranked 52nd out of 554 teams. Sam Reinehr ranked in the top 5% with a score of 24.

Paul Diaz, a combined BS/MS student in Computational & Applied Mathematics and advisee of Dr. Paul Constantine, received 2nd place in the Graduate Research And Discovery Symposium's Overall Competition on March 25 at Mines. Diaz will be presenting his research, “Global Sensitivity Metrics from Active Subspaces,” with Dr Constantine's team at the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) Conference on Uncertainty Quantification on April 5-8 in Lausanne, Switzerland. Next fall, Diaz will be starting his PhD in Aerospace Engineering Sciences at CU Boulder. 

Colorado School of Mines won first place in the University of Denver's Analytics Challenge in early March with an interdisciplinary team that included three AMS students, Kownoon Her, Taylor Chott, and Colin Eberl-Coe. Sponsored by Daniels College of Business, the competition centered on analyzing two large data sets from the Denver Police Department and offering recommendations to help the police force be more effective. Students from Mechanical Engineering Professor Alexandra Newman's Optimizations course collaborated with students from Associate Professor Amanda Hering's Statistics course, and received $2,500 for first place. Full Story >>

AMS Department Head and Professor Willy Hereman, pictured here with friends and colleagues, received the Mines Foundation 2016 Outstanding Philanthropic Partner Award for his support of the AMS Honor Fund, the ongoing Ryan Sayers Fund, and other efforts in support of Mines. The award from the CSM Foundation recognizes outstanding commitment among faculty, staff and administrators for their efforts in creating and building critical relationships with Mines alumni and friends. 

AMS Faculty Receives NSF Grant for Doctoral Program

AMS has received a $300,000, three-year grant from the National Science Foundation to enrich its doctoral program. The project will launch an innovative partnership with the University of Wyoming's Department of Mathematics, which received a parallel grant. Coordinating the project at Mines will be AMS Assistant Professor Stephen Pankavich (PI) and Professor Barbara Moskal. Full Story>>

AMS PhD candidate Karen Kazor, advisee of Mandy Hering, was selected as a winner of the 2016 American Statistical Association’s Section on Statistics and the Environment (ENVR) Student Paper Competition for her paper, "The role of regimes in short-term wind speed forecasting at multiple wind farms.” She will present her winning paper at the 2016 Joint Statistical Meetings (JSM) this August, in Chicago, Illinois.

AMS Department Part of Office of Naval Research Grant 

AMS faculty Gus Greivel and Scott Strong, as well as Leslie Light, Director of EPICS, and faculty from the Physics Department are part of a team working to foster leadership and problem-solving skills under a $542,149 three-year grant from the Office of Naval Research. Full Story>>

Carson Kent, AMS 2015 graduate and advisee of Amanda Hering and Paul Constantine, received a 2015 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship for his research proposal on Quantum Error Correction in the field of Computational and Mathematical Engineering. The GRF provides three years of support for the graduate education of individuals who have demonstrated their potential for significant achievements in science and engineering. Carson will be pursuing his graduate research at Stanford and we wish him all the best.

Font Size