Graduate Students

Graduate Students

Laura Albrecht

lalbrecht@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics
Mathematical Biology and Biostatistics

  • Statistical and mathematical modeling of infectious diseases
  • Connecting mathematical models with data for parameter identifiability and estimation

Maggie Bailey

Chauvenet Hall 272
mdbailey@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics

  • Spatial and environmental statistics
  • Computational statistics and big data

Souvick Bera

Chauvenet Hall 267
berasouvick@mines.edu

Research:

  • Nonparametric Inference
  • Large Sample Theory
  • Asymptotic analysis
  • Probability Theory

Will Daniels

Chauvenet Hall 272
wdaniels@mines.edu
Personal Website 

Research:
Applied Statistics

  • statistical modeling of fire season intensity
  • statistical methods for quantifying and localizing methane emissions
  • spatial modeling for large satellite data

Jacqueline del Castillo

jdelcastillo@mines.edu

Davis Engler

jengler@mines.edu

Justin Garrish

Graduate Teaching Fellow

Chauvenet Hall 271
garrish@mines.edu

Research:
Mathematical Biology and Biostatistics
Computational Mathematics and Analysis

  • Mathematical and statistical modeling of metabolic systems
  • Inverse problems in biology

Clubs and Associations:
Mathematical Biology
Mines Mathematics and Computing Collaborative

Matt Hofkes

Graduate Teaching Fellow

Chauvenet Hall 267
mhofkes@mines.edu

Abdul Hafiz Issah

Chauvenet Hall 270
aissah@mines.edu

Research:
Scientific data compression, associated error analysis, and error propagation through digital signal processing.

Michael Ivanitskiy

Chauvenet Hall 269
mivanits@mines.edu
Personal Website

Research:
Computational Mathematics and Analysis
Mathematical Biology and Biostatistics

  • Plasticity and learning in biological neural networks
  • Robustness & interpretability in ML algorithms

Meng Jia

Chauvenet Hall 270
mjia@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics
Machine Learning

  • Bayesian inversion for localizing methane emission sources
  • Machine learning models for detecting abnormal methane emissions

Olga Khaliukova

Chauvenet Hall 267
okhaliukova@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics

  • Spatial statistics (application: methane emissions satellite data)
  • Machine Learning (application: image analysis)
  • Neural Network Architecture

Clubs and Associations:
Society for Women in Mathematics (SWiM)

Brandon Knutson

Chauvenet Hall 269
bknutson@mines.edu

Research:
Mathematical modeling, numerical simulation, and visualization to understand physical systems

Grace Mattingly

Chauvenet Hall 269
gmattingly@mines.edu

Research:
Computational Mathematics and Analysis
Applied Mathematics and Wave Phenomena

Clubs and Associations:
Society of Women in Mathematics (SWiM)
Women Graduate Students

Josh Manis

jmanis@mines.edu

Research:
Algorithms development of many dimensional wave mechanics problems

Sofia Martinez-Castillo

smartinezcastillo@mines.edu

Research:
Mathematical biology, specifically epidemiology.

Kenji Miyazawa

kmiyazawa@mines.edu

Research:
Mathematical Biology and Biostatistics

  • Mathematical Modeling of Blood Coagulation

Dave Montgomery

Chauvenet Hall 274
dmontgomery@mines.edu

Research:
Computational Mathematics and Analysis
Mathematical Biology and Biostatistics
Computational Fluid Dynamics

  • Numerical methods for low Reynolds number flows related to blood coagulation

Juliette Mukangango

Graduate Teaching Fellow
Chauvenet Hall 268
jmukangango@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics

  • Robust inferential methods for spatial data in the presence of outliers

Ryan Peterson

Chauvenet Hall 273
rhpeterson@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics

  • Aggregation problems in spatial statistics

Matthew Picklo

Graduate Teaching Fellow

Chauvenet Hall 266
mpicklo@mines.edu

Research:
Computational Mathematics and Analysis
Applied Mathematics and Wave Phenomena

  • Improved numerical methods via SIAC post-processors

Alex Pinard

Chauvenet Hall
apinard@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics

  • Statistical and machine learning methods for data compression applied to massive spatiotemporal datasets

Vivekananda Pradhan

vpradhan1@mines.edu

Research:

  • Biostatistics
  • Data Science
  • Machine Learning

Sweta Rai

srai@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics

  • Spatial Statistics
  • Time Series Analysis
  • Neural Networks

Lucas Schauer

Chauvenet Hall
lschauer@mines.edu

Research:
Computational Mathematics and Analysis
Computational Hydrology

  • Particle Tracking Schemes for Simulating Lagrangian Reactive Transport
  • High Performance Computing for Accelerating Simulation Run Time

Antony Sikorski

Chauvenet Hall 273
asikorski@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics

Shelby Stowe

Chauvenet Hall 266
sstowe@mines.edu

Research:
Mathematical biology and dynamical systems

  • Mathematical modeling of sleep and circadian rhythms during early childhood

Clubs and Associations:
Society of Women in Mathematics (SWiM)
Mathematical Biology Research Group

Soraya Terrab

Chauvenet Hall 266
sterrab@mines.edu

Research:
Computational Mathematics and Analysis

  • Discontinuity detection in numerical data

Clubs and Associations:
Society for Women in Mathematics (SWiM)
Mines Mathematics and Computing Collaborative

Alex Vidal

Chauvenet Hall
vidal@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics
Optimization

  • Zeroth order stochastic optimization
  • Machine learning/statistical applications in remote sensing