Graduate Students

Graduate Students

Laura Albrecht

lalbrecht@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics
Mathematical Biology and Biostatistics

  • Statistical and mathematical modeling of infectious diseases
  • Connecting mathematical models with data for parameter identifiability and estimation

Maggie Bailey

Chauvenet Hall 272
mdbailey@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics

  • Spatial and environmental statistics
  • Computational statistics and big data

Lewis Blake

Chauvenet Hall 270
lblake@mines.edu
Personal Website

Research:
Applied Statistics

  • Spatial statistics
  • High performance computing
  • Earth sciences including oceanography, atmospheric sciences, and climate

Will Daniels

Chauvenet Hall 272
wdaniels@mines.edu
Personal Website 

Research:
Applied Statistics

  • statistical modeling of fire season intensity
  • statistical methods for quantifying and localizing methane emissions
  • spatial modeling for large satellite data

Jacqueline del Castillo

Chauvenet Hall
jdelcastillo@mines.edu

Research:

Davis Engler

jengler@mines.edu

Research:

Matt Hofkes

mhofkes@mines.edu

Graduate Teaching Fellow

Michael Ivanitskiy

Chauvenet 269
mivanits@mines.edu
Personal Website

Research:
Computational Mathematics and Analysis
Mathematical Biology and Biostatistics

  • Plasticity and learning in biological neural networks
  • Robustness & interpretability in ML algorithms

Meng Jia

Chauvenet Hall 270
mjia@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics
Machine Learning

  • Bayesian inversion for localizing methane emission sources
  • Machine learning models for detecting abnormal methane emissions

Olga Khaliukova

Chauvenet Hall 267
okhaliukova@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics

  • Spatial statistics (application: methane emissions satellite data)
  • Machine Learning (application: image analysis)
  • Neural Network Architecture

Clubs and Associations:
Society for Women in Mathematics (SWiM)

Jamie Madrigal

jmadrigal@mines.edu

Research:
Mathematical Biology and Biostatistics

  • Mathematical modeling of biochemical systems, especially the role of lipid in blood coagulation.

Clubs and Associations:
Society for Women in Mathematics (SWiM)

Grace Mattingly

Chauvenet Hall 269
gmattingly@mines.edu

Research:
Computational Mathematics and Analysis
Applied Mathematics and Wave Phenomena

Clubs and Associations:
Society of Women in Mathematics (SWiM)
Women Graduate Students

Kenji Miyazawa

kmiyazawa@mines.edu

Research:
Mathematical Biology and Biostatistics

  • Mathematical Modeling of Blood Coagulation

Dave Montgomery

Graduate Teaching Fellow
Chauvenet Hall 274
dmontgomery@mines.edu

Research:
Computational Mathematics and Analysis
Mathematical Biology and Biostatistics
Computational Fluid Dynamics

  • Numerical methods for low Reynolds number flows related to blood coagulation

Juliette Mukangango

Chauvenet Hall 268
jmukangango@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics

  • Robust inferential methods for spatial data in the presence of outliers

Matthew Picklo

Chauvenet Hall 266
mpicklo@mines.edu

Research:
Computational Mathematics and Analysis
Applied Mathematics and Wave Phenomena

  • Improved numerical methods via SIAC post-processors

Alex Pinard

Chauvenet Hall
apinard@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics

  • Statistical and machine learning methods for data compression applied to massive spatiotemporal datasets

Sweta Rai

srai@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics

  • Spatial Statistics
  • Time Series Analysis
  • Neural Networks

Brandon Reyes

Chauvenet Hall
breyes@mines.edu

Ross Ring-Jarvi

ringjarvi@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics

  • Functional Data Analysis applied to probabilistic electrical load forecasting

Will Robinson

Chauvenet Hall 271
wrobinson@mines.edu
Personal Website

Research:
Mathematical Biology and Biostatistics

  • Mathematical modeling of circadian rhythms and potential interventions.

Lucas Schauer

Chauvenet Hall
lschauer@mines.edu

Research:
Computational Mathematics and Analysis
Computational Hydrology

  • Particle Tracking Schemes for Simulating Lagrangian Reactive Transport
  • High Performance Computing for Accelerating Simulation Run Time

Shelby Stowe

Chauvenet Hall 266
sstowe@mines.edu

Research:
Mathematical biology and dynamical systems

  • Mathematical modeling of sleep and circadian rhythms during early childhood

Clubs and Associations:
Society of Women in Mathematics (SWiM)
Mathematical Biology Research Group

Soraya Terrab

Chauvenet Hall 266
sterrab@mines.edu

Research:
Computational Mathematics and Analysis

  • Discontinuity detection in numerical data

Clubs and Associations:
Society for Women in Mathematics (SWiM)
Mines Mathematics and Computing Collaborative

Alex Vidal

Chauvenet Hall
vidal@mines.edu

Research:
Applied Statistics
Optimization

  • Zeroth order stochastic optimization
  • Machine learning/statistical applications in remote sensing